Media has a high influence on the way people in a society think. Do you agree with this statement? Provide some reasons to justify your answer.

Media plays vital role in today’s world. Continuous feeding by media – whether TV, news, radio or newspaper it has changed our life in both positive and negative ways. It has influenced our opinions, thoughts, and day to day decisions like shopping for clothes, groceries etc.

Firstly, media has positive impact on people’s life by keeping them updated about what is happening around the world. I may be sitting in India but I will be updated with events from USA. They have updates one click or touch away. Social media gave them ability to interact with far off friends and family members.

Secondly, media helps to create awareness on products and alternatives available for buyers. Seller may be sitting remote but buyer has ability to shop better deals for same product through internet. Websites like amazon.com and ebay has shortened distance between buyers and sellers. It has negative impact as well as it effects business of local producers and hence impacting local economy.

There is another side of social media which brought people from far together but distanced family members or friends. People like to spend more time on their laptops, smartphones or living in their virtual world and neglect people around them. This can be seen in any restaurant, market or queues in public places. People are glued to their gadgets.

Hence I believe that media has wider impact on our life. Considering all these points we should use media more wisely.