In education system, assessment through formal written examination still valid?

In current education system we have many ways to assess students. Few of them are practical exams, written exams and oral tests. I believe written examinations are still valid and are required. These help to gauze how much students learned over last curriculum cycle.

Firstly, written examinations help to quantify how much they gained and how much they are able to remember. Moreover it also helps to test their skills to perform in situations under pressure and which are time bounding.

Secondly, written examinations help to identify weak and bright students. More focus can be given to weak students to enhance their learning and performance. Written exams also help universities and colleges identify best talent from so that they can be given more opportunities to build their career in fields needing bright minds.

Thirdly, written exams help schools, college and teachers to assess their curriculum planning system. Percentage numbers for students appearing and graduating with high grades help them identify if curriculum was tough or easy for students. Also it helps them identify what they planned to teach and what students learnt. With results from previous exams schools can plan next curriculums in order to be comprehensive and updated with new methodologies at same time.

So I strongly believe written examinations are required for assessing students along with other means. This help in making education system competitive.