Medical advancements have increased human life expectancy. While most people may believe that prolonging human life is a blessing, others believe that it’s a curse. This essay will discuss two reasons why increasing the average human life expectancy through medical technology is a curse.

Firstly, the use of medical technology to prolong life is a burden to sustain. Continuing medical treatments can easily deplete resources. For example, a family with a cancer patient may opt to prolong the patient’s life but may lose all of their resources because of it. Thus, medical technology is unsustainable.

Secondly, scientific researches done in laboratories in pursuit of medical breakthroughs are usually unethical. Animals and humans are often used for these experiments. This is an attack to animal and human rights. An example is the use of Filipino children to test the new dengue vaccine which proved to be lethal. Increasing human life expectancy at the expense of tested animals and humans are unethical.

To conclude, this essay discussed why extending human life through medical advancements is a curse. Prolonging life through advanced medical treatments is unsustainable and unethical. In my opinion, increasing human life expectancy through medical technology should be stopped.