Elections are one of the most complicated and essential part of our society. Some countries oblige their citizens to vote while others allow flexibility and give their citizens the right to choose. In this essay, I would like to elaborate further on why countries should force their citizens to vote.

Firstly, most countries allow their citizens to choose whether they are going to vote or not to vote. They allow this flexibility especially in democratic countries where the people can decide whether they participate in the elections or not and this strengthens their ability to choose. For example, a study shows that democratic nations who allowed freedom to vote enabled their citizens to choose better leaders. Thus, there is some merit in allowing citizens to think for themselves and choose whether to join the elections or not.

Secondly and more importantly, compulsory voting in elections may be able to produce better election results. Because everyone is forced to vote, elections can better capture the wishes and thoughts of their people on whom they think is their rightful leader. For example, statistical evidence show that elections with the highest turn out of voters are more reliable and credible. This means that compulsory voting is effective in ensuring good election results.

In conclusion, this essay discussed why and why not compulsory voting is beneficial to society. Elections provide opportunities to citizens to exercise their freedom to choose and to maximize its effects, all citizens should vote. In my opinion, countries should start enforcing compulsory voting to improve election results.