Television has come a long way in delivering entertainment and information. From its humble beginnings as a cathode ray tube box to the modern LED screens, television has been part of many households. Some people spend more than half of their day in front of the television. For many it is the only source of respite from the daily grind of life. We have seen how millions of dollars have been spent on broadcasting infrastructure to reach out to an increasing TV audience. Indeed, the television has been, and still is, among the best ways to deliver news and entertainment.

In countries where the population is aging, the television becomes the companion of choice for many elderly who have found themselves living alone or away from family. With the development of smart television and the internet, many of the elderly have been using their television sets not only to watch the movies but also to talk to loved ones far away. TV equipped with cameras and video conferencing software are now being used to talk with friends and family from any part of the world.

In the future we might see the television play a greater part in bringing people closer together as the technology allows us to enjoy greater interactivity with others through the internet. More and more social media platforms are making their software accessible through the television. I think the future is bright for the TV.