As commercialization and capitalism grow stronger in the world today, many businesses invest on becoming larger and provide wider coverage and such is the business model of a large shopping mall. While most people widely accept the conveniences and variety large shopping malls can offer, others still believe that we should be loyal to traditional and local small shops. This essay will further elaborate we should patronize small shops over large shopping malls.

Firstly, large shopping malls provide better access to a wide variety of products and services. Shopping malls offer the convenience of finding everything under one roof whether it's food, shoes, clothes, or services such as medical, dental and pet care. An example is the largest shopping mall in Manila where you can find all the necessities of life. In this regard, shopping malls may seem superior over small shops but this will kill the local economy.

Secondly, and on the other hand, small shops provide the quality and credibility that large shopping malls cannot offer. Small shops are usually long standing businesses passed on from one generation to another which helps maintain the quality standards that earlier craftsmen and experts of the business built at the onset. An example is the custom shoe store that I always go to because I am sure that they will always provide quality shoes that would last me a very long time. Thus, loyalty to local small shops will help bring innovation and craftsmanship to the next level.

In conclusion, this essay discussed the redeeming features of small shops over large shopping malls. In my opinion, governments should increase their support to local and small shops to encourage entrepreneurship and vocational trades.