With the latest development of medical technology contributing to the increase life expectancy significantly, the implications would most likely be twofold. Research has shown that the human life expectancy could possibly be increased up to 100 years old. However, this gives rise to the controversy of whether it is a blessing or a curse to live long.

It would undoubtedly be a blessing to live long provided that the individual has all necessary resources to maintain a desirable living standard. Living standard could be considered from many aspects including both social and health status. It would be a blessing to be surrounded by the loved ones and be able to enjoy a relaxed retirement life if the circumstances allow. In fact, according to a recent survey by a well renowned university in Japan, there is a strong correlation between life expectancy and superior living standards.

In contrast, it would more likely be a curse to live long if the living standard is not maintained. For instance, an individual has a higher change of being prone to depression and isolation after the death of a spouse, and would prefer not to prolong their lives significantly. Similarly, a terminally sick person on life support may not be as motivated to live long if they are constantly on bedrest. Additionally, burdening their family with financial pressure for their life support is nonetheless a crucial psychological factor determining their living standards.

To summarise, whether it is a blessing or a curse to have long life expectancy would largely depend on the lifestyle and living standard associated with the prolonged life. With the help of the modern medical technology, everyone should plan ahead and prepare for the necessary expenditure for a longer retired life.