With the latest development of medical technology, nowadays life expectancy is significantly increased. In some cases, some seniors could live up to 100 years old. However, it is controversial whether it is a blessing or a curse to live long.

It shall be a blessing to live long as long as someone has the necessary resources to maintain a good living standard. Living standard could be considered from many aspects including both social and health status. It would be a blessing to be surrounded by the loved ones and be able to enjoy a relaxed retirement life if the circumstances allow.

On the other hand, it would be a curse to live long if the living standard is not maintained. For instance, someone may feel lonely and isolated after the death of the spouse, and would not intend to live long. Similarly, a sick person, even with the help of modern medical technology, may not fancy to live long. Not to mention, financial pressure is also an important factor determining the living standard.

To conclude, whether it is a blessing or a curse to have long life expectancy would largely depends on the life style and living standard associated with the prolonged life. With the help of the modern medical technology, everyone should plan ahead and prepare for the necessary expenditure for a longer retired life.