With the burgeoning growth of digital development, Internet has integrated into everyone’s life. There is a heated debate on whether people should stay connected on social media for twenty-four hours a day. As far as I am concerned, I am of the opinion that the argument has both advantages and disadvantages.

First and foremost, remaining associated with social media all the time keeps people updated with the latest information. In other words, people benefit from receiving the latest news in such way. For example, in the recent earthquake happening in China, the large damage was successfully avoided with few people losing lives as government predicted the disaster and instantly posted warning signals on the local webs few minutes before the earthquake. So, the benefits human enjoys from staying on social networking may include saving their lives.

However, it does not mean that staying on social media twenty-four hours a day and seven days a week has no drawbacks. It largely affects people’s daily work and life in a negative way. When having a serious business conference, checking social media from time to time shows unprofessionalism and may causes people to lose their jobs. Similar scenario can be found in families, where family members all staying in the virtual world all the time rather than communicate with each other in the real-world. This often serves as the stimuli for large quarrels or even divorces. Thus, associating with social media all the time causes inevitable negative consequences in people’s work and life.

In conclusion, connecting with social media twenty-four hours a day has both pros and cons. We need to critically think of such behaviour and find the balance of it.