Most alcoholics purchase liquor legally. According to your point of view, should stores in general be legally allowed to sell liquor to alcoholics?

The sale of alcohol has come into considerable limelight in recent years even though most of the alcohol is purchased legally. There has been an increasing demand on banning the sales of alcohol through stores. This essay will explain why the sale of alcohol should be strictly controlled through various measures but putting a complete ban on the sale is not the right step.

Alcohol is considered to be the most controversial beverage of recent times especially among teenagers. When consumed in large quantities, the person ends up losing his sense. This is the reason drinking under the influence of alcohol is heavily penalized in various countries. Therefore, it is necessary to have strict control on the sale of alcohol including the place of sale, age of person, permits of sale etc.

Whereas placing a complete ban on the sale of alcohol might lead to a backlash as it would increase black marketing. This is evident in most of the places where alcohol is banned such as Gujarat in India where it is estimated that the sale of alcohol through black marketers have crossed $ 1 million mark. This will lead to an increase in black money and will reduce the income earned from taxes on liquor adversely effecting the economy.

As most alcohol is sold legally it is still required that their sale be strictly monitored. This essay has described why a complete ban on alcohol will cause negative impact both socially as well as financially.