It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. Some people believe that the year off is a waste of time while others believe that it is necessary.

Choose which position you most agree with and discuss why you chose that position. Support your point of view with details from your own experiences, observations or reading.

Taking a break for one year between high school and university is happening quite frequently. While there are some who believe that this gap of a year is unnecessary and should be avoided while on the other hand some deem it to be necessary. This essay will discuss why taking a year off between high school and university must be avoided.

Any gap between education years must be avoided. This might have a negative impact on one's resume. For instance, most companies prefer candidates who have completed their entire education without any gaps. Therefore, one should try to avoid a year off between school and university.

Most people who prefer taking a year off say that this is required for students to prepare themselves for entrance exams and this could only be done after the school education is over. However, most students prefer to prepare for their entrance exams during their high school as the syllabus is linked and they could very well connect to it. For example, as per a survey out of 1000 students selected in Medical entrance exams 850 were those who had just completed their high school. Hence, the above statistics point out that taking a year off is not required.

In the view of the above essay I conclude, while it is becoming increasingly popular for students to take gap between school and university it is best if they complete their entire education without a break to avoid a negative impact on their resume and also lose connection with studies.