Obesity has been linked to excessive sugar consumption. Some people believe that sugary drinks should be taxed to dissuade people from drinking them while others think that a tax is unnecessary and that public education is the best way to decrease sugar consumption.

Choose which position you most agree with and discuss why you chose that position. Support your point of view with details from your own experiences, observations or reading.

Population of overweight people is increasing in almost each and every country in the world. One of the main reasons for this is said to be the intake of sweet foods. Due to this there has been an increasing debate on the measure to be adopted to control cold drinks which contain high levels of sugar. One group argues that the best way to limit the usage is by increasing taxes on these products whereas other group prefers educating people. This essay will explain why educating people is the right step to control the sale of sugary drinks.

Increased taxes has never led to the decrease in sales of the product. For instance, in most countries cigars and tobacco are heavily taxed however their consumption are always on a rise. In a similar way adding more taxes will not help to control the sale of cola products.

On the other hand creating awareness can be a more effective tool to fight obesity caused due to the intake of sugary drinks. For instance, when in India the ill effects of tobacco for both the individual as well as for the society was campaigned effectively, it led to a drastic decline in the sale and consumption of tobacco. Same awareness must be created for drinks with high level of sugar and people should be demotivated from purchasing these products.

As one of the main factors of obesity is the consumption of sugar necessary steps need to be taken to control the sale of the products with high content of sugar particularly cold drinks. This essay has explained why increasing awareness and educating people is the best approach whereas increasing taxes will have very limited results.