Should the authorities from big cities around the world discourage citizens from using private cars and rather encourage them to use other means of transport such as bicycles, skates, the subway, etc.?

Today most of the cities across the world are facing very high levels of air pollution. This has led to governments across the world motivate their citizens to use more of green transport systems such as bicycling, walking and in some places even skating. In the current scenario wherein we are experiencing levels of pollution which are even higher than the danger levels the use of non polluting means of transport should be encouraged in all the ways possible.

Many European countries in the recent years have encouraged their citizens to use bicycles while commuting to work. For this they've even developed separate lanes which are exclusively used by bicycles to ensure their safety. Most governments have even offered free cycles at various public places to motivate their use. This example is now being adopted by many Asian countries as well.

Also many multi national companies have set a specific day in a year where the employees are advised to come to office either on cycles or by walk. In the city of Pune located in Western India 24th June was prescribed as no vehicle day by all IT companies of a particular area. The pollution levels recorded on that day were 20 times lower than the average levels. More such methods should be adopted by not only governments but also various NGO's and companies should discourage citizens from the use of private cars.

As the diseases caused by air pollution continue to take a toll of lives in various countries the use alternate means of transport is now being increasingly motivated. In conclusion this essay has listed positive changes that can take place if alternative means of transport is encouraged.