In the last years, the number of cars circulating around big cities in the world has increased significantly. Some people believe that authorities should discourage the usage of private cars, and take action to improve sustainable transport, while others think that there is a balance between different types of transport, and no changes are needed. This essay will discuss the reasons why authorities should promote the usage of bicycles, skates, scooters and subway.

To begin with, big urbanizations are experiencing troubles due to the quantity of private cars. Some of these troubles consist in traffic jams, the impossibility to find parking spaces, and a huge rise in pollution levels. As a result, people spend more time in order to get to work, and it is also harmful for our lungs.

On the other hand, some people maintain that there is no need to take action, due to a balance in the diversity of transport. What they might not be aware of, is that not only the pollution and the travel time are affected, but it is also harmful for our mental health, because it increases anxiety and aggressive behavior. For example, some countries such as Australia and New Zealand have incorporated policies to modify this situation. They have provided big cities with public electric scooters and bikes, which can be easily accessed by anyone with a smartphone.

To sum up, although there are several transport options, the usage of private cars is increasing, and authorities worldwide should take action. In my opinion, other cities in the world should copy this Australian and New Zealand idea and develop new solutions to this environmental and health problem.