“The solution to the overpopulation of this planet is education.”

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with this statement. Support your point of view with reasons and/or examples from your own experience or observations.

Population explosion is one of the biggest problem grappling each and every country on this earth. Over the period of time there have been various solutions presented to control population, one of them being education. This essay will explain why increasing awareness among masses by the way of education can be an effective tool in controlling the overpopulation problems.

It has been observed that countries having high levels of illiteracy also have high population growth. In most developing countries population growth is more in rural areas where the education levels are also low. For example, in India rural areas recorded population growth of 1.7% compared to 0.3% in urban areas. Whenever literacy rate increases in any country there is a contrary decline in the growth rate of population like China.

Imparting education will also create awareness among people about the ill-effects of having a large family. An educated family is more likely to participate in family planning. A recent survey done in Indonesia showed that an educated family had 2 child on an average compared to 4.5 children in uneducated families. This example shows the importance of education in controlling the population of any country.

There might be many solutions to controlling population, however growth in literacy rate is the most effective tool. This essay has explained the importance of motivating people to send their children to schools is the best way of controlling overpopulation in future.