Paper books are and will always be superior to e-books.

Discuss the advantages or disadvantages of e-books with regards to this statement. Support your point of view with reasons and/or examples from your own experience or observations.

In the past few years e-books have become increasingly popular. There is a growing debate if the use of physical books will become obsolete and e-books be the new trend. This essay will explain why the popularity of paper books will surely take a beating but will not be completely replaced by e-books.

Many educational institutions including those at primary levels are switching to e-learning standards. This trend is expected to continue in the future as it has many advantages such as less load on the child's shoulders, environmental issues etc. For instance, the revenue from online learning has increased to over 500% in the past 5 years. This itself is an indicator of the changing trend.

However, it would be completely wrong to say that physical books will vanish. There are still many places where people enjoy reading books rather than carrying e-books. As per a recent survey, 68% of people preferred to buy a paper book from a bookstore than on e-markets such as kindle or play store. Therefore, paper books are here to stay for a long time.

Even though the popularity of e-books has grown many folds in the recent years it is still way below paper books. This essay has further explained the growing trend in favor of e-books but paper books will remain in the market for an indefinite time period.