“Vegetarianism is more ethical than eating meat.”

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with this statement. Support your point of view with reasons and/or examples from your own experience or observations.

As many famous celebrities are adopting to go vegetarian the concept of vegetarianism is gathering steam. There is an increasing debate nowadays if being omnivore means being less ethical than a vegetarian person. This essay will show why eating habits of a person should not be linked with ethics.

In some parts of the world getting to eat vegetarian food is quite expensive whereas on the other hand meat is readily and is less cheaper. This is evident in Arctic as well as desert areas where lack of vegetation causes the country to import from other countries increasing their cost. Therefore, being vegetarian cannot be made compulsory everywhere.

Also now it is scientifically proven that meat contains more proteins than any of the vegetarian food at the same time we all are aware pain is not only limited to animals but plants do experience pain and have emotions while plucking fruits or even touching them. So, someone eating meat cannot be called less social than a vegetarian person in the view of the above.

Though vegetarianism is gathering steam it cannot be ruled out that a vast majority of people eat meat. This essay has highlighted the fact a person's food habits should not be linked to his ethics or behavior.