Obesity has been linked to excessive sugar consumption. Some believe that sugary drinks should be taxed to dissuade people from drinking them while others think that a tax is unnecessary and that pubic education is the best way to decrease sugar consumption.

An excessive sugar consumption believed highly associated to obesity and sugary drinks is one of insane products. There is a compelling notion that whether implying sugar tax or through education would be able to reduce overall sugary drinks consumption. Social economist believes that increasing the cost of the drinks leads to decreasing demand of them. Other group of socialist believes education is a better way to do so. In this essay I will elaborate both arguments and explain why I believe education is a better way to dissuade people from drinking sugary drinks.

Taxation implication aims for increasing the retail price, it becomes less affordable for consumer so it can dissuade people from drinking them. However, a small amount increased on the retail price, it may only create a minimum impact on consumption desire. For example, Danish government implied twenty percent tax rate on all sugary drinks recently. The quantity of sugary drinks sales was not reduced, in fact, it was slightly raised up. It is because consumers were seeking alter products to replace taxed sugary product. Also, they were going to German, where is significant cheaper, for buying those drinks. As a result, consumption of sugar was stay at a high level.

On the other hand, Australian government promotes healthy lifestyle through public education program. Australian decides cutting down their sugary drinks after being informed how sugar impacts our body. Consequently, Australian consumption on sugary drinks was shown on official statistic was reducing.

In conclusion, as per argument points mentioned above, I am inclined to think that education generates an enormous motivation to change people behavior. Therefore, I believe education is a better way to dissuade people from drinking sugary drinks.