should school stop teaching handwriting entirely and focus instead on their typing skills? Is handwriting no longer relevant?

Recently, there is a compelling notion that whether schools should stop teaching handwriting entirely and focus on their typing skills has become a heated topic. Rather, handwriting is no longer relevant to children, hence digital devices are more common used in the future, it becomes even more controversial. In this essay I will elaborate both sides of argument ad close a logical conclusion at the end.

Stopping teaching handwriting in school is rather extreme emotional comment than an objective argument. Handwriting is an important skill in our daily life for example, handwriting allows us to drop a note to our family member or neighbour. It is a fast and efficient communication method. A tidy and clear handwriting helps to cut avoidable mistakes caused by miscommunication.

Despite handwriting skills is important in our daily communication, a fast speed and high accuracy typing skills are also playing critical role as well. Digital devices are highly being used in writing emails and essays. There is an undeniable argument that children are spending more time on typing on keyboards than handwriting during their educational period. Typing skills are essential for their education purposes.

As per my argument points mentioned above, I incline that both handwriting and typing skills are important to children for their educational and communication purposes. Neither skills should be under weighted in their learning process. Both skills should taught in their early age for their well being.