Should digital media replace textbooks? what are the reviews and possible solutions.

Recently, whether digital media replace textbooks for tertiary education has become a heated argument. As digital media become commonly used for educational purpose, such as posting journal articles and academic discussion. There are some educational specialists starting to investigate the idea of using digital media as a replacement to textbooks becoming a primary education channel for tertiary education. As digital media allows academic update information lifetime. But textbook publishing has gone through editing process that ensuring the information is accrual. In this essay I will elaborate these two arguments and explain why I believe digital media is beneficiary to tertiary education as a primary education channel.

Digital media is commonly used for retrieving news and entertaining purpose. It also is being widely used by tertiary education institution for posting their article journals and performing academic discussion. Digital media allows academic updates their presentation lifetime. Therefore, their presentation contents will be up to dated. And also, a livetime chat function provides an excellent interaction plaform for lecturer and student to exchange their opinions on the subject. It can enhance the knowledge excahnge.

Despite, there are many benefits of using digital media as primary channel for tertiary education, the process of publishing textbook involves editing and prove reading that ensuring all information published are correct. And also, format of textbook presentation allows words, photograph and graph appear on the same page that easier for reader to understand a complex concept. As digital media can't accommodate all forms of information presented in one page yet.

In conclusion, as per arguments mentioned above, I am inclined to think that textbook provides a more comprehensive platform for author and reader to learn a complex concept than digital media. Therefore, I believe textbook can't be replaced by social media.