Parents are responsible for their children’s behavior. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, whether parent should respond to their children behaviour sparked a heated argument. Either children well behaviour is important or not even become controversial. There is a compelling notion on both sides of arguments. In this essay I will elaborate both side arguments and explain why I believe parent should respond to their children behaviour.

A new research from the University of Ohio found children behavior are influenced by their parent moods, interpersonal skill and communication skill. The parent, who have a high level of interpersonal and communication skill tends behave more calmly under stress, in order to they have a better problem solving skills. Children would easily mimic their parent behavior and respond how to deal with difficult situation or people. Therefore, those children have a better behavior when they are in similar situation.

But despite parent behaviour has profoundly influence to their children, children is also developed their own behavior pattern due to their peer groups influences, according to a study found from the University of Standford. As children spent long time in school, which has exposed themselves into peer groups influences, which were found equally influential from their parent. However, parent can not deny their responsiblity as a guardian who provide guidelines to their children how to behave as a responsible person in society.

In my conclusion, as per arguments mentioned above, I am inclined to think that parent is responsible to children's behaviour, even though peer groups have played a huge part of it.