With the increase of digital media available online, the role of the library has become obsolete. University should provide digital material rather than textbooks. Discuss both the advantages and disadvantages of this position and give your own point of view

While digitization in library function under overwhelming speedy development, the role of textbook has changed so while digital materials provided by university becomes a trend. The role of textbook in the future becomes a controversial debatable topic. One side of notion arguing that textbook is still playing a key role in education system as it provides a comprehensive format that allows the student to abstract information efficiently. On the other hands, digital material provides an environment friendly, fast and cheap source of materials available to all students. In this essay, I will elaborate both sides of argument and will lead to a logical conclusion.

Textbook is proven that an efficient format for student abstracts information in many subjects. A physical paperback is a great reminder for study. Paperback textbook allows the student to mark notes and highlight the key points which is crucial for a lot of people in memory important information. Textbook can borrow from library for free which is providing a very affordable way to study.

Nevertheless, digital material provides huge convenience for students to get to access information from online. Digital material allows the author to update its contents in live time that would ensure the accuracy and latest information provided. Digital library capacity is enormous which is the tradition library not able to compete with it. The storage of millions of study materials across globe is invaluable.

From what we have discussed above, I am inclined to agree that the advantages of digital material are out-weight than textbook. However, some drawback cannot be ignored.