Should schools stop teaching handwriting entirely and focus instead on their typing skills? Is handwriting no longer relevant?

Recently, whether schools should stop teaching handwriting entirely and focus on typing skills has become a heated topic. This is because some people believe that handwriting is no longer relevant to children, hence digital devices are more likely to be used in the future. In this essay I will elaborate on both sides of the argument and explain why both typing and handwriting skills are equally important and so should both be taught at school.

Stopping teaching handwriting at school is an extreme, emotional action to take even though we often use typing skills rather than handwriting skills these days. Handwriting is an important skill in our daily life: for example, handwriting allows us to drop a note to our family member or neighbour. It is a fast and efficient communication method. Also, tidy and clear handwriting helps to reduce avoidable mistakes caused by miscommunication.

Despite handwriting skills being important in our daily communication, a fast speed and high accuracy with typing skills are also playing critical role as well. Digital devices are increasingly being used in writing emails and essays. Essentially, there is an undeniable argument that children are spending more time typing on keyboards than handwriting during their educational period. Therefore, typing skills are essential for their education purposes.

In conclusion, as per the points mentioned above, I am inclined to think that both handwriting and typing skills are important to children for their education and communication purposes. Neither skills should be undervalued their learning process. Both skills should taught from an early age for children's well-being.