Parents should be held legally responsible for what their children have done. What is your opinion? Support it with examples.

Should parent be legally responsible to their children behavior becomes a controversial topic and eventually becomes an arguable topic. This topic is compelling two sides of arguments that parent is legally accountable to their children activity. The other argument is obviously not legally responsible to their children behavior in the society. In this essay, I will elaborate both sides of arguments and concluded mine one.

Under Australian law, the meaning of children is under age of 18, who are not either allow to vote or sign any legal document for themselves. All legal documents need their parents or guardians signatures or initials for acknowledge legal duty requirements. For example, children is not allowed to sign themselves in for any medical treatment. The rationale behind belief children is not matured enough to make a reasonable decision. In this case, parent has taken all their legal responsibility as primary carer of children to make the best interest decision for them. Under the same logic, parent is also take all their legal responsibility of their children behavior.

On the other, children has their own minds and personalities which are completely independent to their parents. Their value and belief possibly contradict to their parents in many cases. As an individual human being, their behavior should accountable only to themselves as other member in the society.

In my opinion, I am incline to agreed that children should take their own responsibility on their behavior. However, parent has responsibility to teach their children how to behavior as a responsible member in the society.