Electric car is a solution to both transport and environment issues

Recently, whether electric car is the solution to resolve both transport and environment problems has become a heated debate. Electric car was marketed as a cheap and environment friendly transportation option. However, unstable electricity supply and expensive cost may lead the electric car is rather a burden than an asset to many car users. In this essay I will elaborate and will explain why electric car is not yet the solution to both transport and environment issues.

Electric car, which is different to traditional conventional car, is powered by electricity battery. The battery is rechargeable. Also, the car is powered by battery, there will not have any emission of pollutant, particularly in carbon dioxide which is believed directly related to climate change. Moreover, electric car runs quietly, therefore, it will reduce the noise pollution to zero. It will be a massive benefit to residents who are living in giant city like Sydney.

Despite, there are many benefits of electric car, all these benefits can be offset by increasing electricity demands leading to more power stations needs to build. Coals power station is still the main source of electricity in Australia. The amount of Co2 emission from burning coal for generating electricity is significantly higher than emission from all cars in Australia.

In conclusion, as the points mentioned above, I am inclined to think that electric car is not the solution to both transport and environment issues yet until we have better environment friendly technology to provide a reliable and cheap electricity supply.