Obesity has been linked to excessive sugar consumption. Some people believe that sugary drinks should be taxed to dissuade people from drinking them while others think that a tax is unnecessary and that public education is the best way to decrease sugar consumption.

Choose which position you most agree with and discuss why you chose that position. Support your point of view with details from your own experiences, observations or reading.

Write between 200 and 300 words.

Recently, obesity has become the most serious health issue which is mainly caused by over consumption of sugar. It is considered by many that by placing high taxation on sugary drinks may refrain the people from drinking it, albeit others tend to think that public awareness is an efficient way to alleviate its consumption. This essay will argue the reasons why both public awareness and high taxation will help in diminishing the sugar consumption.

Putting high taxation on sugary drinks can prove to be worthwhile. When governments will apply the tax rate on such drinks containing high level of sugar in it, the purchasing demand for such drinks will automatically decelerate. For instance, consumers will think twice while purchasing sugary drinks with high taxation rate. Hence, placing tax on sugary drinks will be beneficial in decreasing the sugar consumption among people.

In contrast, for those who hold the notion that public awareness in this context will help people reducing their sugar consumption could be true as well. By making people educated towards the repercussions of sugar consumption which leads to obesity also in all age group people, they might stop over consuming it. Thus, by knowing the cons of such drinks, people will start avoiding it by keeping in mind their health benefits first.

This essay has argued how placing tax on sugary drinks and by educating people about the hidden pitfalls of such drinks can decelerate the consumption of sugar among people. In my way of opinion, I strongly believe that making people aware about the negatives of sugary drinks is the more efficient way to reduce the sugar consumption than by placing tax onto it.