In the last years, obesity has significantly increased due to enormous amounts of sugar consumption. Some people are convinced that, in order to avoid this situation, sugary drink prices should rise, while others maintain that the real issue is public education. This essay will discuss the reasons why public education should be the main concern in order to fight obesity.

To begin with, sugary drinks have become more popular for families with young children and also for adolescents. These drinks were made part of the common diet, which turned into a consumption habit. Therefore, the only way to change a bad habit, is through education. Governments should incorporate health habits teaching at school, as well as, in local communities. As a result, people would develop the ability to recognize the consequences of their alimentation choices.

On the other hand, some people believe that adding a tax to drinks with sugar will discourage customers to buy them due to the high price. This solution has been tried before in Australia, for example. In Australia, taxes have been added to alcohol in order to decrease its consumption, but it didn't work. It is evident, that people don't react to the price, when buying something they really want. Sugary drinks and alcohol have in common, that both are addictive, so, the price would not stop people from acquiring them.

To sum up, the inclusion of sugary drinks in our daily diet has become more popular and it has been also linked with an increase in cases of obesity. Although some people believe that the solution is to rise prices, others think that education plays a key role. In my opinion, education is the most important factor to determine whether someone would choose to buy a sugary drink, while being aware of its consequences.