In most education system, students are assessed by written examinations. Do you think it is good idea or not?

Recently, the methods of assessing students have sparked a public controversy, which inevitably leads to a moot question “Is assessing students by written examinations beneficial or not?”. while there are several drawbacks to this question, I completely agree with the statement, and believe that written examinations are of high importance. This essay will further elaborate on both positive and negative aspects of this subject and thus will reach a logical conclusion.

From a social perspective, oral test is strongly related to the traditional system, which means it might lead to both an educational quality and equity. For example, a group of reputable scientists working at a highly prestigious university conducted a qualitative study to demonstrate the relationship between formal student’s academic achievement, assimilating knowledge as well as wide range of questions. Therefore, this evidence presented thus far support the contention that pressure of examination is positively correlated with not only intellectual ability but also a creative endeavor.

Moreover, I believe that formal examination is attributable to objectives of education, in that it would lead to an equal opportunity, fast progress, and covering the scope of the subjects. A well-known example of such attribution is capacity to remember science and mathematics, which is cause for concern since it had been mistaken in taking old-fashioned learning for granted. Thus, methods of evaluating could play a significant role in a school curriculum, leading to obtaining higher education and successful academic career.

In conclusion, evaluating students by written examinations can be mutually beneficial under different circumstances. However, I firmly believe that traditional learning not only will prove to be worthwhile but also crucial to the society.