In the most of the education systems, students are assessed by written examinations. Do you think it s a good idea or not? Give your reasons.

Recently the phenomenon of written examination for assessing student’s knowledge and its corresponding impacts has sparked a heated debate. Although contested by many that the merits of paper-based exam are highly rewarding, such issue is regarded thoroughly both constructive and positive by a substantial number of individuals. I am profoundly inclined to believe that evaluating students’ performance according to their achievement on final exam can be a plus, and I will analyze this idea by providing some academic evidence before concluding.

On the one hand, from academic standpoint, scoring students with formal methods can provide the society with noticeable effects which are rooted in the fact that it leads to students striving more, as well as competing with other learners, are essentially related. According to my own experience, back to my college duration as a student, I performed an academic experiment about assessing primary school's students based on their test grades which presented fruitful results. Thus, the beneficial ramification of both competition and studying for passing the exam could evidently be observed.

On the other hand, within the realm of practical skills, talented students may have the opportunities to present themselves better in hands-on practice examination. Moreover, fundamental aspects of confidence related to this reality that the demerits of written exam may increase the amount of anxiety in some skillful students, could be overestimated. According to an academic research conducted by Tehran university in 2015, downside of the oral test is correlated negatively with decreasing the performing ability in primary school students. Hence, it is correct to presume the preconceived notion of homework.

To recapitulate I pen down saying that while there are several compelling arguments on both side, I highly tend to believe that the benefit of formal testing system far outweighs its drawbacks.