Networking

Chevening is looking for individuals with strong professional relationship-building skills, who will engage with the Chevening community and influence and lead others in their chosen profession. Please explain how you build and maintain relationships in a professional capacity, using clear examples of how you currently do this, and outline how you hope to use these skills in the future. (minimum word count: 100 words; maximum word count: 500 words)

After obtaining a BSc in chemistry/zoology and a diploma in biochemistry and physiology, I started my career as a laboratory technician at Integrated Diagnostics Holdings (IDH). It was a brand new experience for me to deal with doctors, professors, and my great experienced colleagues with some of them having more than 10 years of experience, and the latest devices and techniques in the field. All of this was just like a dream come true. I said to myself “you better earn yourself a good place among those very skilled persons”. After only one year I became a senior laboratory technician responsible for routine testing, stat testing, training the newcomers, and even warehouse stock monitoring and purchasing. I kept moving up in my career in IDH till I reached the head of department of corrective actions and assessment, alongside my core role as a laboratory technician. All of this continuously introduced me to new people with different career pathways and responsibilities, and each one of them has learned me something new and affected my mind, views, and my life.

When I joined the 6th Cycle of the International Medical Laboratory Scientist (IMLS) training program offered by the Engineering & Science Services (ESS) at the American University in Cairo (AUC), I was excited to find out that the practical curriculum was held at IDH. I used my ongoing relations with my previous coworkers to assure that my new colleagues at the AUC are getting the best possible experience and knowledge from my old coworkers.

Despite all of this, some aspects of knowledge and particular experiences were not available at IDH, so I once again contacted some old fellows working at the Children's Cancer Hospital Egypt (CCHE 57357), widely known as 57357 hospital. Even I called the Director of Research Department asked if they could host the practical part of the training program at their laboratories, and now there are meetings between the administrations of both the AUC and 57357 hospital regarding Initial agreement on cooperation. Of course the students of the 7th Cycle of the International Medical Laboratory Scientist (IMLS) training program and the ones after will benefit of this cooperation, but I feel satisfied that my actions could pave the way for them.