Nowadays age discrimination in any company has become a common trend. Do you think it is a positive or a negative development?

One of the most conspicuous trends in today’s corporate world is an increased bias in favour of youth, thanks to their young age, punctuality and adaptability to modern working environment. As such, there are both merits and demerits to this trend, although I am of the opinion that the latter outdo the former.

There are a myriad of arguments in favour of my stance. The most preponderant one is that no matter how energetic and enthusiastic young employees are, they have insufficient knowledge and exposure about their work. Not only can young employees often find it hard to take decision based on their limited expertise unlike their senior counterparts, but the company can also suffer astronomically in the long run by having these vulnerable and whimsical youth in place of senior employees who possess a wealth of knowledge and experience in their long-haul career. Needless to say, all these demerits have a far-reaching impact on company’s growth.

Another pivotal aspect of this argument is that training young employees will cost employers a significant amount of money, time and other resources, thus affecting the growth of company’s revenue. Besides, if modern technology is what senior employees are lagged behind in, they can easily overcome this shortcoming by taking relevant training in their respective fields. Hence, it is apparent why many are against discriminating employees on the basis of their age.

In view of the arguments outlined above, one can conclude that the demerits of age discrimination, be it in organisations or companies are indeed too dire to ignore.