In this era of globalization, boundaries – political, geographical, cultural – are being
removed as peoples blend and persons share, with each other, the very values that once
segregated them. Cultural mixing has begun tearing down all the ethnical and racial
pigeonholes and move us closer, by the day, towards one universal race of humans. Like
all else, even this has its occasional downsides, which, when put in comparison with the
upsides, are negligible.
Firstly, we have to consider that cultural mixing is perhaps the only non-coercive way
to move global humanity towards ideal equality, a belief sought for by all the great
persons, and political and religious ideologies. While many have struggled throughout
human history to uproot tyranny, oppression, bigotry and segregation, their paths have
been tainted by the blood of the bold and tears of the beautiful. True that we, through
our ravaging revolutions, have progressed, but at a cost that undoubtedly has been dear.
Cultural mixing, on the other hand, is the benedictory prophet, who ushers the great
communion of all men in empathy, leaving behind all ethos, and he comes only in peace.
Yet, some conservatives argue that free-mixing of cultural values degrade people’s
sense of morality. They must be conveniently forgetful of all the immoralities, in the
name of conservation, that evidently have tarnished human history. Although, it is
undeniable that cultural mixing, like any other progressive enterprise, has coincided with
social unpleasantries, for example declining stability among families in the third world
countries, the blame has not yet been rationally put. And, of course, there are many other
socio-economic controllers such as wage-earning, and individualism that may very well
be responsible for today’s social ills.
In sum, we must not be closed-minded to the global brethren cultures, because, only by
doing this we may, one day, realize the ever-cherished dreamland of universal humanity,
where “… all the people, sharing the world in peace” will not be only a thing of
imagination.