Nowadays, people living in large cities face many problems in their daily lives. What are these problems? Do you think the government should encourage people to move to smaller towns?

In the years afterwards industrial revolution, a burgeoning number of individuals migrated to cities in search of the higher standard of living, and more job opportunities. This trend has continued since then; however, it has been neither total boon nor bane to city dwellers since they are obliged to cope with various potentially formidable obstacles. This issue has raised doubt as to whether authorities should convince people to settle in smaller towns rather than megacities. This essay will try to identify predicaments correlated with living in urban areas, and, therefore, propose some alternative practical solutions.

On the face of this issue, one might cite that living in cities would offer salvation to their habitats; albeit, dwelling in cities tend to be superficially attractive as there are a wide range pressing problems posed in the path of city residents. First striking problem interwoven with this sort of lifestyle would be environmental contamination. Probably the most haunting form of contamination in cities is air pollution. Due to the ongoing increase in the number of private cars, commuting in cities and burning fossil fuels, air pollution has reached a perturbing level in many metropolitan cities. Having attracted millions of job seekers given the number of industries running there, Shanghai is probably placed on the top of polluted cities across the world. Shanghai municipal administrations are scratching their heads to find a solution so as to tackle air pollution. Exhausting traffic congestion is equally worrying. Meaning that people are squandering their time on streets full of vehicles, making bumper-to-bumper traffic, which drastically wastes habitants’ time. Moreover, traffic stream can generate tension, leaving the detrimental impression on people’s lives.

Although city lifestyle has its own serious problems, the whole idea of living in cities is not that doom and gloom. Many individuals are of the view that governments should do their utmost to re-settle public in small towns in a bid to curb above-mentioned issues. However, this idea appears to be outlandish considering the fact that there are a number of viable steps can be taken to ameliorate the current situation. One concerted step could be initiating a fresh legislation, imposing heavy taxes on residents who are willing to use their private cars instead of public transportation. The raised capital of this scheme can be channelled toward investments in substituting renewable energy sources for contaminating fossil fuels. No sooner do government enforces suggested laws, than both pollution and traffic congestion will be eliminated.

According to above analysis, we can arrive at a concluding view admitting the fact that city dweller is confronting several frustrating obstacles; however, this view simultaneously rejects the evacuation plan given more sensible recommended measures.