Obesity has been linked to excessive sugar consumption. Some people believe that sugary drinks should be taxed to dissuade people from drinking them while others think that a tax is unnecessary and that public education is the best way to decrease sugar consumption.

An excess amount of sugar consumption leads to detrimental health diseases like obesity. While some people think that a proper education is required to minimize the intake of sugary substances, others maintain that heavy tax must be imposed on sugary soft drinks to prevent people from buying it. This essay will discuss why the necessity of both the opinion is required to fight against obesity.

We cannot eradicate the consumption of sugary eatables completely, but we can educate the people who consume it on a daily basis. Government and educational institution should conduct campaigns to promote the severity of consuming sugar in creatives ways. Furthermore, these campaigns should be advertised in cinema halls and other public places. These promotions will help the citizens to avoid the intake of excess sugary eatable. For instance, the government of Denmark educates the causes of obesity and detrimental effects of consuming sugary drinks. As a result of public education, we could reduce the sugar consumption.

The government should impose hefty taxes on companies that sell sugary drinks. As the taxes on these drinks are high, the average cost of the drink will be increased. This prevents people from buying and consuming sugary drinks. Furthermore, the government should provide discounts to shops that don't sell these drinks which will encourage the shop-keepers to stop selling these sugary products.

There are a plethora of harsh effect in consuming sugary products. In my opinion, a combination of public awareness and a strict law will decrease the consumption of sugary drinks which will eventually reduce the obesity percentage in a country.