Parents should be held legally responsible for children’s acts. What is your opinion?

In this day and age, the statement that, parents should be held responsible for children's acts, which was always debatable has now become controversial. It could be strongly agreed upon the fact that parents are responsible for their wards has some favourable arguments in support of it, however there has always been some contention about it. This article will discuss both sides of the critique before a plausible conclusion is found.

In the onset, it is firmly believed that kids are mirrors of parents. The right to correct a child lies on the parents shoulders. As a result, child continues his misbehaviour as long as his parents does not correct him. This could be illustrated by the story of a mother and his son who had been sentenced to death for robbery. The convict claimed that if his mother had warned him, he would not have been convicted then. Henceforth it is quite conspicuous that parents are onus for childs behaviour.

On contrary, some people believe that folks are not to be blamed. They cement this fact by providing a plethora of evidences. For instance, since the child spent a significant amount of time in school and with his fellow mates, not only his parents, his teacher and friends can also contribute to his behaviour.

By diligently analysing the above view points, the responsibility of parents overweight those of his teachers or peers. Therefore I am strongly inclined to believe that folks are responsible for their ward's acts.