Parents should be held legally responsible for their children’s acts. What is your opinion? Support it with personal examples.

Recently, parents' legal responsibility for their children's behavior has sparked an ongoing controversy. Some believe parents should be enquired by law to accept responsibility of their children's behavior. By contrast, others maintain that parents are not responsible in this regard. This essay will discuss why parents ought to be legitimately in charge of their children's conduct.

To begin with, this is parents' responsibility, in the first place, to educate their children properly to respect other people's rights, abide by rules, and tell the right from wrong. Parental supervision is a must and parents cannot abandon responsibility of appropriate upbringing to others, for example, educational system. When parents are legitimately compelled to bear the brunt of responsibility of their children, they would be more likely to nurture their children correctly in order not to suffer from legal consequences of their children's misbehavior.

On the other hand, when children understand that their parents will be disciplined by law due to their unintentional or willful conduct, without being involved in any wrong doing, they tend to obey the rules. This is especially the case when they once witness the result of their misbehavior is imposed on their parents; once bitten, twice shy. This will, in turn, drastically decreases crime rate in future because children are accustomed to obeying the rules from their childhood.

In conclusion, I believe that holding parents liable for their children's behavior urges parents to pay more attention to child rearing. Also, it encourages children to observe the law rules which all result in having good members of society in the future.