Parents should be held legally responsible for their children’s acts. What is your opinion? Support it with personal examples.

Recently, parents' legal responsibility for their children's behavior has sparked an ongoing controversy. While some believe parents should be enquired by law to accept responsibility of their children's behavior, others maintain that parents are not responsible in this regard. This essay will discuss why parents ought to be legitimately in charge of their children's conduct.

To begin with, this is parents' responsibility, in the first place, to educate their children properly to respect other people's rights and bide by society rules and law. When parents are legitimately compelled to bear the brunt of responsibility of their children's behaviours, they would become even more careful about proper upbringing of their children in order not to suffer from legal consequences of their misbehavior.

On the other hand, when children understand their parents will be disciplined by law due to their aggressive and unlawful behaviours, be it unintentional or willful, they tend to behave to ensure their parents will not face problems because of them. This is especially the case when they once witness the result of their misbehavior is imposed on their parents; once bitten, twice shy. This will, in turn, drastically decreases crime rate in future because children are accustomed to obeying the rules from their childhood.

In conclusion, I believe that holding parents liable for their children's behavior urges parents to pay more attention to child rearing as well as encourages children to observe the regulation and law which both result in having good members of society in the future.