Parents should be held legally responsible for their children’s acts. What is your opinion?
Support it with personal examples.
It is irrefutable to say that, violence by juveniles has increased in recent years at an alarming rate in
our society. Children are involving themselves in crime and making our society jeopardize.
Considering this, some people opine that parents should be responsible for their young one’s fault,
while others argue parents should not be punished. The following paragraphs will analyze for inevitable reasons and will lead to a plausible conclusion.
Disagree
On one hand, parents should not be blamed for their children’s fault as the decision to commit the
crime is entirely made by the children. There are many parents who have done their best part in the
upbringing of their children so that their child cannot commit any offense, yet, their offspring still
succeed in committing the same. Moreover, mass media is playing a crucial role in making adolescents
aggressive. For example, currently, there are many violent games and movies that are being released
in the market. This makes a child more violent which could be one of the reasons for committing the
crime.
Agree
On the other hand, parents should be held accountable for their children’s crimes because parents
are the first people that a child gets to know after he or she is born. It is believed that parents start
shaping the child’s moral compass and character from a very young age. In addition, most of the
children do offense because they were violently abused by their parents when they were young. For
instance, according to 2013 statistics, in America, most offenses were made by juvenile belongs to a
criminal family.
Conclusion
To recapitulate, I pen down saying that, parents should not be solely blamed and punished for their
children’s actions. Other factors should be taken into account when deciding on whom to blame. The government must take some prudent steps to educate children in their schools so that they do not
commit a crime.