Parents should be held legally responsible for their children's acts. What is your opinion? Support it with personal examples.

Nowadays, it is increasingly acknowledged that the children's action is one of the biggest issues which parents are facing. While some people believe that children have to take responsibilities of their acts themselves, others advocate that parents should be held legally responsible for the actions of their children. As far as I am concerned, parents have the duty to keep watch over their children's acts.

People who emphasize the importance of the responsibilities should be held by children are primarily focusing on the independence. They advocate that everyone is an independent individual; parents cannot control what their children do, therefore children need to be held legally responsible for their acts. Nevertheless, this argument does not hold water. The main reason is that children are not mature like adults and does not have the ability to think independently. That is why most of the countries have the laws for protection of children.

It is evidently reasonable for me to believe that parents must take legal responsibilities of children's actions. The main justification of this view is that children’s behavior and way of thinking are largely affected by their parents. That is to say, they imitate what their parents do and copy their parents’ ways of thinking. Hence, parents are the primary source of children’s learning. If children have inappropriate acts, parents have their responsibilities.

In a nutshell, while this controversial topic never fails to attract the public attention, we may safely reach the conclusion that parents should be held legally responsible for the actions of their children is correct in respect of this issue.