In the past, sports champions used to be motivated primarily by the desire to win a match or to break world records. These days, they are more likely to be motivated by prize money and the opportunity to be famous. What message does this send to young people and how does this attitude towards sports affect each sport?

State your opinion and support it with reasons and/or examples from your own experience or observations.

In the earlier times, athletic competitions are used to be driven mainly by the objective to attain victory or overcome global records. But today, these events are usually been targeting the monetary prizes and the chance to be popular. This situation have caused the youth to feel for practicality and this thinking has affected the mentality of genuine sportsmanship. This essay will discuss my justifications for the stated reasons.

To begin with, the era of physical activities has proliferated since the historic periods. However, the notion about this have changed through time. Many people claim that gathering the cash prize from winning in a sports contest is what the players are after to. The athletes are behaving this way because of the need for finances without considering the essence of playing itself. Moreover, self-fulfillment also comes in along with the attainment popularity among wide array of audiences. This may be caused by the limelight they get once in the stage of star dome to experience once in a lifetime feeling of greatness and appreciation. To illustrate, car racers are at instant fame together with large amount of prizes obtained after becoming the first placer even though they have been dishonest during the game.

Moreover, the mentality has greatly affected the younger generations as they always look up to their idols in the field of sports. Unfortunately, they may also feel being betrayed as they have expected more superb performance from their teams. However, due to personal gains and interests one cannot truly enjoy the event as their bets did not able to win. For example, the champions of boxing matches are believed to be pre-planned because of secret arrangements for the sake of money.

To recapitulate, eradicating the essence of true sports just to obtain larger sum of money is unacceptable and may also lead to mistrust and dishonesty among the youth. Indeed, it is the primary role of the sports facilitators to showcase real talents of sportsmen.