Polygamy has led to massive divorce rate around the globe.

Polygamy is a state of marriage where a person is married to more than one woman. Predominantly, the concept of Polygamy is originated in ancient times of war when females were widows to the martyr soldiers. To ensure the security of these women, they were adopted by the king and this introduced polygamy to the society. Unfortunately, in recent times, this concept is taken for granted and it is used for personal benefit leading to awful consequences.

At the onset, Polygamy in the modern world is holding a status of convenient luxury of being with multiple women.People often pull this for their pleasure rather than social purpose. Consequently, the impacts are very evident on the society.Women in polygamy experience severe sense of insecurity owing to the diverted attention of the husband. They suffer financial instability since the husband is unable to cope up with the expenses of multiple wives. Polygamy is the major aspect for infidelity and adultery issues. Owing to this, there are uncountable separations which are revealed by a research conducted by National Institute of Civil Affairs. Every year around 35% of the couples file for divorce under the grounds of Polygamy.

On the darker side, Polygamy also accounts for low self-esteem in women if they are dependent on the husband. At the present time, we have more and more females who are graduated and educated, therefore being financially independent. These women choose to step out of the hoax and guile relationship and rise with self respect in their lives. This is also one of the major reasons behind the divorces in Polygamy.Polygamy not has resulted in large number divorces but it is also a cause of depression in the children who are unfortunately born out of polygamy.a

In Conclusion, Independent and strong women opt to part away from the husband if they are the victims of Polygamy while some divorces are an outcome of incapability of the husbands of cope up with the basic needs and finances of their multiple wives.