Nowadays, there are different types of mass media such as newspaper, radio and social media that are easily available. People are divided on the positive and negative benefits of technology information through mass media. In this essay, significant points of its positive effects will be emphasized.

One of the most popular forms of mass media today is social media. It can be easily accessed through our mobile phones and laptops with the use of internet. Information distribution particularly news and latest updates on current issues can easily spread across millions of users using this online platform. Because of its capability, one of its significant use is when government agencies issue warnings especially when a natural calamity may happen such as volcanic eruption. Clearly, using social media in spreading information strengthens the position that the positive effect that it contributes to society is highly unparalleled.

On the other hand, social media can also be used in spreading fake news. It is one of the prevalent issues that is occurring nowadays as most users tend to quickly believe the information that is fed to them and people with bad intentions use it on their own advantage. This negative effect of information distribution through social media has cause widespread confusion to people.

In my opinion, I fully agree that the positive benefit of technology information through mass media outweigh its negative effect. We just have to carefully secure and be more vigilant on the information that we get from different mass media platforms.