As a result of advances in medical care. Average life expectancy is increasing for men and women. Do you think most people will see this as a positive development? What are the disadvantages of an ageing population for individuals and society?

One of the most conspicuous trends of today’s society is furtherance in medical field. Medical science has made various break throughs in recent years. Medical assistance have improved quality and longevity of people’s life. Although, some expertise consider this break though as significant improvement, some expertise believe that it will affect negatively to the society. This essay will discuss, improvement in medical care is a marvellous refinement and ageing population can impact society negatively.

Firstly, modern medical equipment in medial care facilities are helping doctors to identify cause of the disease more efficiently. Patients feel more positive once the root cause of illness is determined, which also helps in improving patients overall health. For example, MRF scanners, laser therapy, Chemotherapy, cosmetics surgeries, etc. Advancement in medical care increase people’s life span and they live longer and healthier. Thus we can say, medical care is a constructive evolution.

Secondly, ageing population can bring challenges to the society. It becomes difficult to maintain supply and demand and sustain infrastructure. Increased ageing population can demand more aged care workers, more hospitals in already exhausted infrastructure, decline in housing affordability, overcrowded schools and transports, deforestation and scarcity of natural resources and increased crime rates. Therefore, it can be said growing ageing population can have negative impact on society.

In conclusion, this essay discussed, why improvement in medical care increases quality of life and satisfaction level, and why it can be detrimental in terms of resources. In my opinion, improvement in medical care means world can mature and learn from experienced mind, which is positive.