Road rules are generally enforced by fining people for infringements. Some people, however, believe that governments should not be penalized unsafe drivers but reward safe drivers instead.

Which view do you support?

These days, there is an ongoing debate between people about the road safety and reckless drivers. While it is possible to claim that governments should reward those who drive safely instead of punishing those who breach the rules. In my view, this could lead to the myriad of concerns in the society. In this essay, I shall explain my point of view by analysing both sides of the argument.

First of all, there are several reasons why I am in favour of penalties for breaking the road rules. The most preponderant one is that we cannot deny the risk of death while driving and unsafe drivers can be a big threat to anyone on the road. Therefore, to control the traffic and for the safety of the people, it is advisable to charge people for the road offences. For example, a decade before Saudi Arabia had the highest ratio of road accidents in the world but it has been reduced to the lowest by implementing strict laws and penalties.

On the other hand, those who argue for rewards for safe drivers have a different point view. Firstly, it is claimed that governments can use this system to aware and educate people towards road safety. Secondly, it can also be argued that individuals may tend to adhere to rules and regulation in order to receive a prize from the traffic department which can play a pivotal role in the road safety.

In conclusion, the foregoing discussion propounds the view that both options of punishment and reward for drivers can be handy, however, it would be best for the authorities to introduce a balanced system to have an optimum control.