Should cell phones be banned from schools?
In today’s world, cellphones have become an important part of people’s lives. The
age that people are getting their first cellphone is younger and younger. With increasing
technology, cellphones are used for more reasons than just a phone. Kids now have easy
access to television, music, and games on their phones. With all this available to them, kids
can become addicted to their phones, which causes them to be distracted and can even
disrupt the classroom. Therefore, cell phones should be banned in classrooms.
First of all, students lack concentration in class because of cellphones. They prefer to
text with their friends, and they do it during class by hiding their phones under the desk.
Students who get bored also use their phone to look at interesting or funny websites, which
takes their mind off the teacher. Cellphones are also a distraction to the class because they
make a lot of noise. Funny ring tones make other students laugh, and the teacher must calm
everyone. Some students think it’s better to vibrate the phone instead of ring during calls,
but even the vibration can distract the teacher and classmates from what they were talking
about. This is extremely disrespectful to the teacher who takes a lot of time to create
important lesson for students. It is better if students just leave their phones at home and
focus on their study in class.
Another reason cell phones should be banned in class is that phones are not as
useful for learning as students might claim. Students can get a lot of useful information
through their phone, but cellphones should not replace the actual teacher. The teacher is
there to answer questions for the students so they don’t need to be looking it up on their
phone. Phones have replaced real learning by letting students look up answers on the
internet or use them as a calculator instead of solving problems by hand. Texting has changed the way people learn to write and talk to each other too. If students are given
permission to use their phone during class to look up information, they may decide to log
into social media instead, which they lose focus on learning again. If students really need to
use the Internet for learning, it should be for homework and not in class time.
Finally, cellphones in classroom are not just a distraction, but students can be
looking at inappropriate information during school time. Students think they should be
connected at all times. They don’t realize that certain websites make them a target for
illegal activity. Some kids have GPS tracking so turning on the phone in class can let
strangers know exactly where they are. This can be dangerous with kidnapping. Using the
phone at school might not be secure so criminals can hack into the school system. Also,
more students are getting into trouble by posting inappropriate pictures and language on
social media sites. To stay out of trouble, students should just not be on their phones.
Furthermore, students risk phone stealing too by other kids who can’t afford one. The
devices are too expensive to lose, so they should keep the phone at home. There are many
things that can go wrong with having cellphones at school.
In conclusion, cell phones should not be used in classes anymore. The phone is
distracting and prevents learning. But most importantly, phones in classrooms can be
dangerous and involve stealing, bullying, and no security for the student. The classroom is
meant for teaching and learning so students should respect that and not have their phone
in class.