Should companies which sell clothes, or consumer goods put their emphasise on reputations or short-term strategies like discounts and special offers?

One of the most conspicuous trends of today's world is the colossal upsurge of companies putting emphasis on reputations or short-term strategies. There is a concern that some people say businesses should focus on goodwill but proponents are against this. In my opinion, reputation is very important for the business companies which outdo short-term strategies.

There are many arguments in favour of my stance but the most preponderant one lies in the fact that consumer goods must be of good value to the consumers. In fact, not only do big companies like Apple and Samsung provide quality products but also they never compromise on attracting customers with discounts or special offers. We can find overwhelming evidence in support of the fact that a reliable customer of the company is gauged on the basis of the recurrence. Needless to say, all these merits stand for the long run of the company in good stead, as far as quality product is considered.

On the other hand, one detrimental aspect of this argument is that the sales of the product after offers like discount cannot gauge the regular customers. For example, there are a number of researches by various governmental bodies that show that many consumers buy the products having offers only who cannot be a customer of one regular company. Besides, this cannot help to speculate on the regular sales of the company. Hence, it is apparent why many are against the discounts and special offers.

In view of the arguments outlined above, one can conclude that the benefits of putting emphasis on reputation by the company instead of the special offer as short-term strategies are indeed too great to ignore.