Nowadays many countries have to decide to either invest an enormous amount of money to public transport or roads and how to reduce the number of vehicles in city centres. It can be agreed that without serious investigation in both at the same time will not give satisfying effects. In this essay, I will explain why it is necessary to build much more roads and improve transportation in major cities.

Passed several last years number of cars tremendously increased, which lead to overcrowding city centres and main roads. Moreover, nowadays more and more people have more than one car and live in suburbs, therefore they need somehow to get to the city centre. For example just after the handover the new bridge in Warsaw it becomes one of the most crowded ones by traffic jams. Further extension of basic roads arteries is essential for growing cities.

On the other hand, an increased number of the population requires also major improvements in public transportation. All infrastructure projects should combine the interchange hubs for rails and subways. Without those, the problem will just arise like in India where all roads are blocked by individuals riding on motorbikes and transportation is ineffective. Encouraging many people by well-organized infrastructure will unblock many jammed streets in cities.

In conclusion, there are many factors which affect decisions what is more important either new roads or improvement in public transport. In my opinion, both require to be undertaken at the same time.