Should University penalize students for late submission of their work?

At university, students are commonly assessed through individual or group assignments. Some people think that penalty due to late submission is reasonable while others argue that it is not necessary. This essay will argue that although such punishment is strict and imposes pressure on students, it is mandatory to do so.

To begin with, due date requires students to manage their time effectively and avoid procrastination. Penalty is an effective way to gain students commitment on submitting the tasks on time. For instance, while working on multiple projects at the same time, students are self – control on their timetable. To avoid losing marks, they are more likely to plan their schedule and assign a reasonable amount of time for the task. By meeting the deadlines, students demonstrate good time management strategy.

By exerting pressure on students, universities prepare them for future workforce and educate them to employ available resources to accomplish a given task. In fact, most universities develop a large resource to assist students. There are supporting services such as workshop in writing essay, computer lab demonstration and math or statistic workshop. Furthermore, students are free to discuss with each other or their professors. Thus, by employing these study aids, there is no reason that students cannot complete their task on time.

To conclude, this essay has argued that students should receive penalties when they fail to submit their assignment on time. Such punishment ensures students commitment on sufficiently using all available resources offered by university to carry out the given task efficiently.