Whether experiential learning (learning by doing0 can work well in formal education, agree or disagree OR experience is a more effective way to teach, compared to books? agree or disagree

Extensive research has been carried out to improve students learning outcomes. While some people prefer the traditional method of using textbooks in teaching, there are more and more people believe that experiential learning will be the future trend in near future. This essay will discuss why education should adopt experiential learning to improve students’ performance.

The impact of the experiential learning remains a controversy topic. Such learning technique helps students’ learn the foundation knowledge and develop other soft skills to solve problems. For instance, while involving in a group project, students enhance their ability to work as a team and communication skills. Furthermore, such project requires students to gather information, analyse the information and derive a critical solution to the problem. Such skills and abilities cannot be developed by just reading textbooks and going to lectures. Therefore, practical learning assessments should be added in the course syllabus.

It is human nature that we remember things longer through practical experience. It is highly recommended that education institutions should adopt the experiential learning technique to improve students’ performance. A common mind trick to memorise multiple items is creating a story to link all objects into the story. In a similar way, practical experience gives students a context in which knowledge consists of a series of relating information; and therefore, such learning technique enhance students’ long term memory.

To conclude, this essay argues that learning through practical experience can benefit students in several ways such as building their soft skills and improve their memory. In my opinion, learning through experience is a potential teaching technique in formal education.