Urban sprawl is an increasing issue around the world. One way in which to solve this issue is to construct cities vertically rather than horizontally. Are such cities a good idea?

The spreading of urban area over rural area is becoming an issue around the world. A proposed solution to this issue is that urban development should favour vertical structure over horizontal structure. This essay will discuss why vertical building is a good idea to decrease urban sprawl.

Construction of vertical structures contributes to minimize issues relating to urban sprawl. Vertical structure such as high rise building provides more living spaces per occupied land area comparing to horizontal structure. For example, a three story apartment provides living area for 3 times the number of households comparing to single houses over the same area. This demonstrates how vertical structure can lower human footprint and reduce negative impacts of urban expansion.

The second reason of why cities should be built upwards rather than outwards is that it is less expensive to build and helps to reserve green space. Construction of high-rise buildings and apartments can be commercialised by which mean, all living areas are constructed at the same time by building specialists. The specialists focus on developing large scale projects and accumulate experience over time to improve the efficiency and safety in the construction of mid to high rise structures. The projects incorporate living or working area and garden area to improve the living quality.

In conclusion, increasing human population leads to an increasing demand for living area. This essay discussed how vertical cities lower human footprint as well as provide low cost and environmental friendly living areas.